Reading Round Up February 2021

Reading Round Up February 2021

Written by Desiree S. aka Da Geeky 1

New Year New Reading Goals. Hello my fellow Book Geeks. I have miss you all. Had to take some time off to get through the end of 2020 but I did start 2021 off strong in my reading Game.  I have a small number goal for 2021. Hoping I reach my goal and surpass it. I do have to say I’ve been on a autobiography/biography, memoir kick and a little self help to get through the madness of this pandemic life.

God-Level Knowledge Darts: Life Lessons from the Bronx By Desus & Mero
DIE FOR THE HIVE!!!! Yes I personally am a hardcore Bodega Hive member. Once I heard that my fave Podcasters and Late Night TV show hosts had a book out I knew I had to get it. Chapter one had me giggling like a fool. Desus is a kindred spirit and Mero is just a fucking Nutter Butter but I love them both.  I think this is a great book for fellow Bodega Hive members and of course Bronxites.

A Promised Land by Barack Obama

There was no way I was going to read his wife’s book and not read his. They are like my favorite couple. I had to laugh that President Barack Obama decided to do an interview with Desus and Mero. At that point I already owned the book but when I watched that interview where our former president was getting spicy with my favorite Podcasters I knew I had to read this book. 

Mulani Moneybags Starts a Business by Mulani Ellington & Kelly Wallace
I absolutely love supporting young black authors and entrepreneurs. This young lady happens to kinda sorta be fam. She is the daughter to JELS God Father and I’m super excited to share that this young lady and her mama have written a book that I think is adorable and great story to teach young readers about starting a business. 

Just As I Am: A Memoir by Cicely Tyson with Michelle Burford

Because I’ve been in a Memoir, Autobiography/ Biography kick why not right. Unfortunately we lost this treasure very recently but that doesnt make her story any less fascinating.  I absolutely loved Ms. Cicely on How To Get Away With Murder. Reading about her life is nothing short of spectacular to me. I get super geeky for this genre of reading don’t mind me. 

Incomparable by Brie & Nikki Bella
I’ve been a WWE Fan for most of my life. You kinda had to be with my mom and dad. After high school I took a bit of a break from watching. Still kinda knew what was going  on but not like my early years. I started watching again because of the reality TV show Total Divas. I immediately became a fan of the Bella Twins. Brie is more my vibe but I think they are both hilarious and they were great performers.  When I found out they were writing a book I got excited. Took me a while to get the book. I prefer to my autobiography and biography books in physical form.  There’s something about curling up with a good book on the couch right. They hit on some pretty intense topics but I have to say I love them more after reading this book. 

Star Wars: The High Republic: There is No Fear # 1 Trial By Order & #2 Tombs in Space
Cavan Scott

In my super biased opinion… Lol you already know I love everything Star Wars. When this High Republic Era was first introduced to us I damn near fell out my chair in glee. In how this Comic Books series starts off I am excited to continue this adventure with Young Jedi Knight Keeve Trennis and her Jedi Master Sskeer. 

Star Wars: Light of the Jedi (The High Republic) Charles Soule

I’ve been attempting a deep dive into the Star Wars Book Universe.  It is massive and intimidating.  But I won’t shy away from my quest to read as much of it as I can. This book is the first book in the New Era of Star Wars tales that I cannot wait to peel back these layers to this story.  This book is based about 200 years prior to the Phantom Menace prequel movie. And one of my main reasons for getting into the High Republic series is to see if they give us any insight into Master Yoda. Even if it’s just a tiny glimmer of information. 

Grief Day by Day: Simple Practices and Daily Guidance for Living with Loss 
Jan Warner

Unfortunately I have a need for this book because 2020 was unkind to our Geeky Family.  Maybe we are all dealing with some kind of loss because of this shyt show pandemic. I wanted to not get stuck in my grief as M I have done before.  This book was recommended by someone I follow on IG. Thought I’d give it a try. I’d like to say I am taking several different steps to deal with my grief not just books so I can’t say just one thing is helping me it’s a lot of little things from different areas. The introduction to this book made me want to continue reading it. Her first Line is “Take my hand and walk with me a while through the barren field of grief.” Yup that exactly what I needed to hear and read. Also she says at the end of the intro “Take what you need and leave the rest.” While I may not be going through the same type of grief this woman experiences I know this person gets a part of what I’m feeling. 

The Stand – Stephen King 

I fell in love with this story because of the Mini Series that was released back in 1994. I watched it with my mom. After every episode in the series she would tell me what was left out from the book and what was changed. It was our way to bond I guess and i loved every minute of it. I won’t lie I had mixed feeling about them remaking it because I do love the original so much but would love to see what you can change with our current technology.  I decided not to watch the remake for many reasons. In making that chose I though it would be best to read the book so that I can experience it this way and to remember the days when my mom told me about the Stand. 

Well Book Geeks until next month. If you have any suggestions please feel free to leave a message in the comments. I am always looking for new book or series to jump into.

Leave a comment